Reading Quiz

One of my favorite bookish bloggers, Citizen Reader, recently posted a book-quiz-thing that she had seen elsewhere. She says she rarely does this kind of thing, and I also don’t usually climb onto that bandwagon (if you were a house, what architectural style would you be?) — but I can see why she thought this one might be fun. So, a break from diabetes, parenting, angst for this post from my reading brain (I am a librarian by trade after all!):

A to Z Bookish Survey.

Author you’ve read the most books from: Christopher Morley? Ernest Hemingway? No idea really.
Best Sequel Ever: Year of the Flood, Margaret Atwood. So often the middle book in a trilogy is somewhat slight, or only useful as a bridge, but Atwood manages to create a second book that is equally as good as the first and could stand on its own. Same for the third book, MaddAddam.
Currently Reading: Little Girls Can be Mean, The Fast Diet, Doctor Sleep
Drink of Choice While Reading: Glass of wine (cabernet) or lime seltzer
E-reader or Physical Book? Usually a physical book, but when traveling also very happy with e-reader/tablet (and I always download from the library!)
Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School: OWhichever jerky, misogynistic secondary character you can name. I would have wanted to date Landen, Thursday Next’s husband or Heathcliff (Wuthering Heights). Or, probably Landen would be now 🙂 – I wasn’t that smart in high school.
Glad You Gave This Book A Chance: The Imperfectionists, by Tom Rachman and The Tenth of December, George Saunders.
Hidden Gem Book: We are All Completely Beside Ourselves, by Karen Joy Fowler. Don’t read anything about it (not even the blurbs on the book). Just let the story unfold.
Important Moment in your Reading Life: Realizing that you don’t have to finish every book you start.
Just Finished: Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman and The Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fforde. Both excellent.
Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: Romance, most mysteries.
Longest Book You’ve Read: I just don’t think about books in this way… Moby Dick may have felt like the longest. I’ve read a bunch of books that are well over 500 pages, probably even several around the 700-800 mark, but no idea what would actually be the longest. Somebody name some ridiculously long books and I’ll tell you if I’ve read any of them.
Major book hangover because of: Trying to read anything by Thomas Pynchon.
Number of Bookcases You Own: Six that I can think of plus a bunch of flat surfaces that are covered in stacks of books. Sometimes I feel like the shelves at my library are really mine too.
One Book You Have Read Multiple Times: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.
Preferred Place To Read: Anywhere. Really, don’t care.
Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read: This is too hard for someone who doesn’t have this kind of memory.
Reading Regret:That I don’t read more contemporary poetry.
Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series): “Need to” – that’s tough. If I “needed” to then I probably would. Most of the series I have given up on I wouldn’t go back to.
Three of your All-Time Favorite Books: SO hard! Jane Eyre, On the Road, If On a Winter’s Night a Traveler. Better to be my friend on goodreads and check out my “best books ever” shelf.
Unapologetic Fangirl For: Neil Gaiman (squeeeee!)
Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others: Recently it was Doctor Sleep, but just got that today so now it is The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt.
Worst Bookish Habit: Ignoring my wonderful husband while reading.
X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book: Rough estimate (hard to see individual books when so many are piled in front of and on top of those that are actually “on” the shelf): Time and Again, Jack Finney.
Your latest book purchase: Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman (did I mention, squeeeeeee?)
ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late): MaddAddam.

What are you reading?

*I saw it at Citizen Reader’s blog, and she saw it at Kim’s Sophisticated Dorkiness site, and she got the idea from The Perpetual Page Turner.

This entry was posted in Blogging About Blogging, Books, Off-topic. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading Quiz

  1. I definitely agree with you about Year of the Flood. I thought it was a great book, especially the way it opened up the world of Oryx and Crake in a new way. I stayed up very late finishing MaddAddam too!

Leave a Reply

