We Need a Cure: Reason #11

OK, I don’t really have a numbered list so #11 is totally made up. But, I have sleep-deprived brain, so it makes sense to me.

Reason #11 is Sleep. Studies show that humans need sleep — mostly uninterrupted, multi-stage sleep in order for our brains to function effectively. Also, chronic sleep loss puts you at higher risk for heart disease, high blood pressure, stroke, and diabetes (and if you already have diabetes – then insulin resistance). Emotionally, sleep problems can contribute to the symptoms of depression and/or anxiety.

You read about sleep disorders and eating disorders — T1 has aspects of both. Between CGM alarms, overnight highs/lows waking you up (or just making your sleep restless), parents waking up to monitor their T1 kids’ bgs through the night, how often do PWD or Parents of PWDs actually get the kind of sleep that is good for us? It’s different for everyone of course (YDMV), but in general I’m sure it is much less than it should be.

This is on my mind mostly because last night was almost totally sleepless. I think I’ve mentioned trying to get the bear’s overnight basals straightened out (of course, the lack of sleep is affecting my memory too so maybe I have and maybe I haven’t). This has been weeks of testing at 10 pm, 12 am, 2:30 am. And, usually, my own G4 wakes me up at 1-1:30 am and 4 am. The night before last, she was a little low at 2:30 am so I was thinking maybe I was finally getting closer. Last night was a site change (yes, I know it is recommended to do those enough before bed that you have some time to see if the change was good but the way our days go that usually isn’t practical) and when I tested her at 10 p.m. she was over 400 and I couldn’t think of a single reason why that would be. Site? Had to be. So we changed that out (can you say 90 degree kink?) and corrected and I set extra alarms to keep an eye on things. Up at midnight: high 300s, correction. Up at 2 a.m., high 200s, correction. Up at 4 a.m., low 200s, very small correction. 7:30 a.m. bg=88. Phew.

The bear never woke up for any of this, but she does get restless so I know her sleep isn’t perfect on these nights. As for me — my eyes are itchy, my brain is sluggish (how do I make tea again?), and my bgs will likely be in the 200s later today (based on past experience). I’m sure my antidepressant & anti-anxiety meds will deal with any contributions to those symptoms, and I’m lucky to have decent b.p. so far. One night of that would be no big deal. But, we know what adding the “chronic” to anything does in the long term. And, tonight, it’s still back to the basal testing schedule.

Recently, a blog I read (damn memory fail) was referencing an infographic that was created from the “one thing I would want people to know about diabetes” that various folks had submitted and the blog post asked, “what one thing would you want people to know?” I couldn’t really think of anything at the time, but right now I’m thinking that I wish people could know how tired we are a lot of the time.

This entry was posted in Living with Diabetes, Sleep, Uncategorized, YDMV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

