Change the World (one small piece at a time) #DBlogWeek

I’m definitely a small-world advocate. I am grateful for those who get up on stages, talk to politicians, ride a bike 100 miles, organize big fundraisers, and so many other things to raise awareness about T1 and the need for a cure (and better technology in the meantime) — I’m not one of those people though.

I’m a T1 who advocates for myself with my endocrinologist — who reminds the doctor that I am an individual trying to manage T1 diabetes on a day to day basis, not a statistic or an A1c number. I want to get the most out of my care but I also hope that others might get treated based on their own situation, not where they fall ona spectrum of diabetes.

I’m a T1 who wears my diabetes paraphenalia where ever it works best for me — and I take every question as an opportunity to educate a little, or possibly expand one person’s perception of what a person with diabetes looks like.

Every day, I am a T1 who cares deeply about my daughter’s T1 experience. She was diagnosed at age 3 so I am her advocate with her doctors, teachers, friends, family. I am her nearest model of what life with T1 looks like, can look like. I hope that my tiny bits of local advocacy make her life better in some ways, open some doors, and most of all make her feel that she can stand up for what she needs and the life she wants to live – diabetes or no diabetes.

This is my first post for #DBlogWeek. You can read more about it at Karen Graffeo’s Bitter~Sweet blog. Here’s the prompt for Post #1: Let’s kick off Diabetes Blog Week by talking about the diabetes causes and issues that really get us fired up. Are you passionate about 504 plans and school safety? Do diabetes misconceptions irk you? Do you fight for CGM coverage for Medicare patients, SDP funding, or test strip accuracy? Do you work hard at creating diabetes connections and bringing support? Whether or not you “formally” advocate for any cause, share the issues that are important to you. 

 

This entry was posted in Living with Diabetes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Change the World (one small piece at a time) #DBlogWeek

  1. I’m glad that you recognize that what you do is advocacy! I think a lot of people play down their contributions, but what you do for yourself and your daughter is important. Many people don’t even do that much when it comes to advocating for themselves with their medical team!

  2. Kim says:

    The small things add up. Thank you for what you do.

  3. nldiabetic says:

    Thank you for this post, and thank you for being an advocate out on the ground, pounding the pavement and taking those teaching moments and helping pull back the veil of ignorance. I think advocating for yourself is the first thing we all need to do. And you make a wonderful point that we need to be active participants in our medical care.

  4. t1dme says:

    Do what you can, that is all you can do. There is strength in numbers.

  5. Karen says:

    Thank you for everything you do to advocate, for yourself but for others as well. Because I know what you do is helping more people than you may imagine.

  6. Craig says:

    I agree that taking the time to educate people when they ask questions is its own form of advocacy. Sometimes the ignorance can be irritating but then I think to myself, “Would I know that if I weren’t living this myself?”, and try to educate the best I can for as long as they’ll listen

Leave a Reply

