Perfect vs. Good #DBlogWeek

I have to be shorter today than yesterday… Not getting to this post until after 5:30 p.m. and the Bear will be home from yoga class any minute.

Today’s prompt [disclosure – I don’t think I really stuck to it today…]: Today let’s share what gets us through a hard day.  Or more specifically, a hard diabetes day.  Is there something positive you tell yourself?  Are there mantras that you fall back on to get you through?  Is there something specific you do when your mood needs a boost? 

I don’t really have a mantra or tips for getting through a tough diabetes day. What else can you do but grit your teeth and keep responding to the data at hand? Kind of like when you are hiking and the trail has been a lot harder than you expected from the description and you are just starting back down — no matter how awful it is, you have to keep going. The only other choice isn’t really a choice at all.

However, sometimes I make my own bad days when it comes to diabetes. I am a perfectionist/control freak with some things and it turns out that diabetes is one of those things. When I was first diagnosed, the logs I kept would have put a forensic accountant to shame. I had rules upon rules about what and when I could eat. If my bg went up above 130 I would pretty much freak out. I had bad diabetes days all the time – mainly because my expectations were so out of whack and I let diabetes say “no” to a lot of things.

Eventually my therapist told me: “don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good,” and while it took me a while to really hear what she was saying I still repeat this to myself when I start to get too obsessive. Trying to be the “perfect diabetic” actually created a whole lot of problems I wouldn’t have had if I could have been happy with being a “good diabetic” (I know, whatever that means!). Some days (or weeks), I need to stop beating myself up over a high bg here or there, need to stop rage bolusing. All of my attempts to have perfect numbers basically just got me severe hypoglycemic unawareness that I’m really struggling to reverse. Not perfect.

So, on a bad day, I have to try to make some good choices and let that be good enough.

This entry was posted in Hypoglycemia Unawareness, Living with Diabetes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perfect vs. Good #DBlogWeek

  1. Kelley says:

    Oh I love what your therapist said “don’t let the perfect be the enemy of good”. I need to remember that! Sometimes feeling like you aren’t the “perfect” diabetic can really get me down. Thanks for sharing those words! 🙂

Leave a Reply

