YDWV #DBlogWeek

Friday’s DBlogWeek Post Topic: Share the (non-medical) tips and tricks that help you in the day-to-day management of diabetes.  Tell us everything from clothing modifications, serving size/carb counting tricks to the tried and true Dexcom-in-a-glass trick or the “secret” to turning on a Medtronic pump’s backlight when not on the home-screen (scroll to the bottom of this post). Please remember to give non-medical advice only!

Man, I can’t wait to read all the posts for this topic! I’m gonna learn so much 🙂

I’m not really a good hacker – whether life in general or diabetes. I just learned the thing about the backlight on the medtronic (the Bear’s pump) because of this topic! I have a lot of common carb counts memorized but don’t know any tricks for that — just a side effect of eating a lot of the same things. [OMG this is such a lame post… and not really any hope of it getting better] Basically what works for me is testing, watching the CGM arrows, using glucose tablets to treat lows, and having a hubby who always wakes up for dexcom alarms. Pretty similar for taking care of the Bear’s diabetes. My only secret weapon? Temp basals. We both already have a pretty robust basal profile set up on our pumps but I use temp basals in combination with low treatment and high corrections all the time. All the preset temp basals on my PDM are a major part of my toolkit.

Not flashy – but using all of our diabetes tech to its fullest capacity can make life with diabetes a little easier. I’m always amazed when the endo or CDE are surprised at the number of profiles I have set up — doesn’t everyone have profiles saved for when they are running high or low, when they are testing out new settings, have their period (ok, just the women)? Doesn’t everyone have temp basals preset for lows (-50% for 30 minutes), for pod changes (+95% for 3 hours), for cardio (-85% for 1 hour), for strength training (+25% for 30 minutes)? Doesn’t everyone use a made-up formula of treat + temp basal for various types of CGM arrows?** Apparently not, according to our medical team.

Does it work every time? Hardly. But it works enough of the time to make me glad I have the option.

**YDWV (your diabetes WILL vary) — all of these examples are things I use currently (after trial and error) because they are working but there is nothing scientific or medically recommended about them.

This entry was posted in CGM, Living with Diabetes, Pump Management. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to YDWV #DBlogWeek

  1. Karen says:

    Temp basals is a important tip because I know a lot of PWD don’t use them as much as they can, if even at all. It’s definitely a hack worth exploring with our HCPs!!

    • t1dme says:

      Yes! I have been on the pump since 2003, but didn’t start using temp basals until a year or two ago. I would definitely suggest talking to one’s HCP about their uses.

  2. Kelley says:

    I rarely use the temp basals but I need to use them more! Especially when my BG is high! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Katy says:

    I have *none* of that. But I would like to! Wow! And pod change +95% for 3 hours makes me rethink my “maybe I should give him the basal he missed while I was changing this up” timid little micro-boli.

  4. type1dmom says:

    ❤ Temp Basals. I don't have a pre-set list, but one thing that always confuses my daughter's endo is the fact that on her medtronic pump we have the option for 3 different basal patterns, and all of them are set! So, when she suggests changes she has to ask "Which of these are you currently using?" I use 1 pattern to keep track of all the changes we make in between her quarterly appointments. So, we set up the "normal" basal profile with whatever settings we leave the endos office with and then whenever I decide to make changes I program a new identical pattern and make the changes to that. It still amazes me sometimes how much her insulin needs can go up in 3 months time (only a little over a year out from diagnosis, and apparently not entirely out of honeymoon)

Leave a Reply

