I Can Do It, Can You?*

Hello diabetes blog week! [get info about Diabetes Blog Week]

For Day One, we have this topic: In the UK, there was a diabetes blog theme of “I can…”  that participants found wonderfully empowering.  So lets kick things off this year by looking at the positive side of our lives with diabetes.  What have you or your loved one accomplished, despite having diabetes, that you weren’t sure you could?  Or what have you done that you’ve been particularly proud of?  Or what good thing has diabetes brought into your life?  (Thank you to the anonymous person who submitted this topic suggestion.)

As a T1 and a D-parent of a T1 child, I have heard a particular comment more often than I can count: “I could never give myself/my child a shot.”

There is only one real answer to this even though I never give it… or at least not in as blunt a way as I would like to. If you/your child would die if they didn’t get that shot (and the 4-8 others you/they will need today), yes, yes you could.

I can give myself and my child shots. I can insert canulas (canuli?) under our skin for pump and CGM sites even though it hurts. I can do (and have done) these things while my child cries or screams or on my 5th sleepless night in a row.

I can do these things because it means we can both stay alive and enjoy all of the other awesome things we have and do in our lives.

I can do it and you can too.

*And title thanks to “We’ve All Got Belly Buttons

This entry was posted in Living with Diabetes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Can Do It, Can You?*

  1. Kelley says:

    Oh I love this post! I used to think I can’t give myself a shot but now almost 22 years later, I’ve been doing it 🙂 Great reminder that we can! Thanks for sharing!

  2. carmygee says:

    I remember watching in horrified fascination at my brother’s friend giving himself a shot and thinking how much courage that must take. What you said was well put, once we are faced with the choice of living or not it definitely clarifies our outlook.

Leave a comment