Pleased To Make Your Acquaintance

Day 7: The very first inspiration for Diabetes Blog Week was to help connect our blogging community, and that continues to be the most important reason it’s held every year.  So let’s help foster and continue those connections as we wrap up another Dblog Week.  Share a link to a new blog you’ve found or a new friend you’ve made.  Or pick a random blog off of the Participant’s List, check it out and share it with us.  Let’s take some time today to make new friends.

I’m still catching up on posts for Day 5 and Day 6 so I’m sure I still have new friends to meet and new favorite posts to find…

I have added some blogs to my Feedly list (up over 65 D blogs on there now!):

  • Celine at Running on Carbs had a great re-post for yesterday’s “favorites & motivation” topic. I’m excited to find a diabetes + running blog given my new-found interest in running.
  • To continue with the running theme I loved the “I Can” post at Running without Sugar. It was great to read how supportive and encouraging her doc was at diagnosis – and then all that she went on to achieve (like marathons!).
  • Pretty much every day I was impressed with the writing on I am Type One. Day 4 she tackled the topic of Changes and her recent decision to try an insulin pump. She started off the week talking about how she doesn’t usually share her feelings or personal thoughts but I thought every post did a great job of expressing herself.

Things that I definitely felt so many of us were connected on:

  • Cleaning Out – we all have a closet, drawers, etc. that are just filled with so much diabetes supplies! I’m glad it isn’t just me who needs to do a purge 🙂
  • Keep It To Yourself – I’m also not alone in finding that sharing specific numbers (like A1c) is tricky. It was interesting to read the reasons various people have for arriving at the same conclusion.
  • DOC Love & Support – Throughout all the topics, people kept saying how their lives had changed for the better once they discovered the DOC. The comments on blogs, RTs on Twitter… all equal the kind of support we all need.

Thank you to everyone who blogged this week and shared your feelings, experiences, wisdom, humor, and support! I’m grateful to “know” you all 🙂

This entry was posted in Blogging About Blogging, DOC. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pleased To Make Your Acquaintance

  1. Hi. I’m so happy you found a blog of mine (well, actually, my late doctor) motivating. Thank you so much.

  2. Kelley says:

    Great list! I need to look into Feedly so I can keep reading these great DBlogs on a regular basis!

  3. I could never keep up with all the blogs I try to read without Feedly. I’m still not successful in reading every single one, but it helps.

Leave a Reply

