Milestones

I posted on FB today: “These days, the Bear is doing all kinds of things I don’t know how to do or am not good at. Being a parent is great in some of the strangest ways…” It’s been fun reading some of my friends’ comments — it’s the ways in which our kids exceed us that are so surprising and wonderful. The Bear has been drawing/writing comic books and designing things (turtle, fuzzy dice) that she wants to sew. She thinks these things up and then goes ahead and does them. She certainly hasn’t observed the BHE or I sewing things, or even writing much lately. As parents we take care of the original creation (or at least our bodies do), but after that, it’s all them.

What I didn’t mention on FB* are the diabetes-related things she has started doing. She’s been getting her site changes ready and has gone from needing/wanting help at every step to hardly even asking for confirmation that it’s all right. She’s also been talking through how she’s feeling when she feels low. Today she told me that even though she hadn’t tested, she was 69 and dropping (oh wait, now 63 and dropping) on her CGM receiver and could FEEL that she was definitely low. She drank a juicebox (15g carbs) and after a minute said, “I just feel like I have to have some glucose tablets too. The juice isn’t enough.” We had a brief chat ab0ut how some lows make you feel like you need more and more (juice, glucose tablets, all the carbs). She said, a little amazed, “you know how I feel,” and I told her about the times I do that (and another juice, and a graham cracker, and a granola bar, and a few spoonfuls of peanut butter…) and then end up with high bg afterwards and not feeling very good. Also that sometimes you need what you need in the moment and it’s ok to correct later. She decided to have just 2 glucose tablets after the juicebox and see how she was feeling at the end of her tv show (about 18 minutes).

These are all things I learned as an adult since I wasn’t even diagnosed with T1 until I was 29 years old. She is only 8 and on the verge of so many steps forward in her own care for her chronic illness. I wish this was a way in which I didn’t need to see her grow, but since it is, I’m proud to see (and sometimes share) what an amazing learner and doer our daughter is.

*Not that I couldn’t mention it on FB – but for many people not living with a chronic condition, illness baggage gets in the way. 

This entry was posted in Living with Diabetes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Milestones

  1. Frank says:

    I’m the same. Facebook is the one place on the internet where I don’t feel comfortable talking about diabetes. And you have an amazing kid!

Leave a Reply

