Message Monday (Diabetes Blog Week, Day 1)

Lets kick off the week by talking about why we are here, in the diabetes blog space. What is the most important diabetes awareness message to you? Why is that message important for you, and what are you trying to accomplish by sharing it on your blog? (Thank you, Heather Gabel, for this topic suggestion.)

 

 

My blog doesn’t really seem consistent (or serious!) enough to have a message, but of course it’s here because I have something to say. There are probably a few things that I hope that I support or convey no matter what I’m writing about:

YDMV: Your Diabetes May Vary – just because something works or doesn’t work for me or my daughter definitely isn’t meant as a judgement on whether it works or doesn’t work for anyone else. I hope that all of us living with diabetes whether T1 or T2, being diagnosed ourselves or caring for someone else with diabetes (or both in my case), whether we’ve been living with it for 50 years or 3 weeks, can find ways to live our best lives with diabetes on board. Your way is your way, and that’s ok.

Diabetes is Freaking Hard, but Doesn’t Call for Pity: I’d like people to know that managing diabetes can be relentless, unpredictable, scary, depressing, and frustrating, but that doesn’t mean that I’m looking for pity for myself or my daughter. We do a great job most of the time and there isn’t anything that I’m willing to let diabetes get in the way of. For others to wrap their heads around that diabetes is both awful and fine doesn’t seem like that much to ask given all the paradoxes it forces us to deal with every day 😉

You’re Not Alone: Someone else out there, maybe me, has gone through what you’re dealing with today. That doesn’t guarantee that their way will be the way you decide to approach the situation, but it does mean that you are not alone in how you’re feeling, what’s happening, or the decisions and choices you are facing. A month or so ago I realized that I had completely forgotten to pack reservoirs for my daughter’s pump on a trip thousands of miles away from our home & medical resources. Duh! The DOC not only came through with some reservoirs to carry us over until we got some from the pump company — they came through with so many “don’t feel bad, we’ve all done thats” that I had to cut myself some slack and feel less stupid and guilty. For me, that is such a huge part of my mental health care for diabetes.

I love all of the amazing diabetes advocates out there blogging about civil rights, mental health/chronic illness awareness, political pressure to get tools covered for all diabetics (hear that Medicare? We need CGMs!), and so many more important messages. I’m not one of those writers but I rely on all the work they are doing to make this world a more friendly place for living with chronic illness. Make sure you check out the link list for today’s topic on Bitter-Sweet Diabetes (and get all the info on this year’s Diabetes Blog Week!) so that you can get your fill of these important messages!!

There’s an overall list of participants for Diabetes Blog Week here. I always “meet” new bloggers who I follow regularly the rest of the year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Message Monday (Diabetes Blog Week, Day 1)

  1. Kelley says:

    Yes, great post! That’s awesome that the DOC came through for your when you forget your daughter’s pump supplies. I went on a trip before I found the DOC and had forgotten reservoir as well and I freaked out, went to the hospital and I got the LAST one…definitely a stressful time! If I had found the DOC at the time it might have been a little less stressful, maybe I could have gotten more than one haha.

Leave a Reply

