Make Diabetes Easier, One Tip at a Time

Day 5: Let’s round out the week by sharing our best diabetes tips and diabetes tricks.

I am definitely not a life (or diabetes) hacker! I’m always impressed by the cool, ingenious, and clever ideas that I learn from others. In a previous DBlog Week (maybe the 5th?) I learned how to turn on the port light on my daughter’s meter* — something I had tried to figure out any way I could with no luck. I’m still grateful for that blogger’s tips every night I’m testing my daughter in the dark.

So, I’m expecting to learn a lot more from other bloggers doing today’s prompt than anyone will learn from me but here are two things that I’ve found helpful lately — one for myself and one for my daughter:

Vitamin D: Both my daughter and I are supposed to be taking vitamin D based on our doctors’ recommendations. I have no trouble remembering to take it myself since I have a couple of other meds I take daily and I just take them all at the same time — it’s part of my morning routine. I have really not done a good job of giving the Bear her vitamin D though. I tried keeping it in various places in the kitchen, on the dining room table, etc. and still we would go weeks without remembering it. Her endo always asks if she’s taking it and the last time I admitted that I wasn’t keeping up with it he gave me the solution I needed: Keep the vitamin D in with her pump supplies and make sure she takes it with every site change. This has been working great for us.

Pump Presets: I use the Omnipod and finally got around to using more of the available presets for temp basal rates and commonly bolused-for meals/foods. These are all really helpful on busy days. The meal bolus presets have helped me do a better job with pre-bolusing. I have no idea why, but it’s true. Having a couple of temp basal presets for high bgs also helps me cut back on rage bolusing.

I highly recommend that you check out some really great tips and tricks on the blog list for today’s topic!

*And, just in case there is anyone else out there who is stumped by the Bayer Contour Link Next meter and it’s test strip port light… When the meter is off, press the on button twice quickly and the light will come on.

Image & info courtesy of Cure Mollbayer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make Diabetes Easier, One Tip at a Time

  1. WOW, I like the light idea for the Bayer meter.

    I referred your blog to the TUDiabetes blog page for the week of May 16, 2016.

  2. Kelley says:

    Oh thanks for the tip on the Bayer Contour meter light…I’ve turned it on accidentally before but I had no idea what I did haha. Also, I am terrible at remembering Vit D for myself and my son so I’ll have to try your trick, thanks!

Leave a Reply

